Are you a Greaser or a Soc?

All 7th graders at Lawrence read The Outsiders. Here’s a secret, I have never read it, but the students love it so much I almost feel like I have read it at this point! Before Thanksgiving break, the 7th graders were given the option to dress up as a Greaser or Soc. The halls were filled with jean jackets, slicked back hair, and poodle skirts and cardigans. Book Club decided, since they would already be dressed up, why not shoot a small video for The Outsiders? I thought it was an awesome idea!

At my old public library, the Teen Advisory Group I ran had the idea to create short videos (and by short, I mean only 6 seconds) that would provide a quick plot overview of the required reading books at the high school. I loved this idea, because they were forced to break down a book into the main plot points, and the students were able to get a bit creative with it. I told the Lawrence Book Club about this, and they loved they idea, so we decided to try our hand with The Outsiders. Filming a video in only 7-seconds is definitely a challenge, but Book Club took on the challenge and the video was created in a mere 15 minutes! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

