The Power in Rereading a Book

For the past 2 weeks I had been reading new LGBTQ+ literature for our GSA event (which was GREAT), and rereading some of my favorite books. There are a few specific LGBTQ+ books I am always recommending, and absolutely LOVED reading them, but when enough time passes and I’ve read so many books, I forget the reasons why I enjoyed a particular book so much.

In particular, Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan and Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz. I honestly felt just as emotional rereading these books as the first time I read them, or potentially even more so, and it made me see how powerful rereading a book can be. I honestly I didn’t want to spend the time rereading them because I have such a long “to-read” list, but to see that I potentially gained even more insight after rereading them, it makes me want to reread a lot of my favorites now (Harry Potter, The Golden Compass, and more).

Another reason rereading can be useful (and a good use of time), at least for me in particular, is because I am a speed reader and often miss important details the first time around. I cannot help but read quickly, which is great for my job as I like to read a lot as a way to recommend books, but is hard because I do forget specific plot points of any given book rather quickly.

Leave a Reply

